Slide Scanning Project

I am working on a Slide Scanning Project. I have 50 years of 35MM Slides. That doesn’t include the same number of years of slides from my Dad. I had started to record my slides, but over the years, my catalog got lost in software updates at some point in time. I had my slides labeled. So, I have started to record my slides.

Here is my Spreadsheet format:

2013-09-04_144018

I have all of my slides with a Roll Number, the Slide Number from the slide, I have descriptions, with will include names if I have them. The Category helps me group them by subject and the Date that is marked on the Slide. The Box, Column, and Slot are the Box of slide information so I know where they are. This one is Box 2, Column 2 and 3 (of 6), and 2 slides per slot. 25 Slots per roll. So, 300 slides per box.

As I have been going through them. I have scanned a couple of them, and am labeling the Scanned Slide as the Roll and Slide number. For sorting purposes, I have for the slide filename, I am using three numbers, like 022. At this point, I am NOT scanning all of them. I have been scanning some slides to include in my genealogy database management program. I have a number of photos that need to be there.

Now, I have had a number of Slide Scanners in the past. none really worked well / easy for me. I did a search for slide scanners and found this:

DBTech 35mm Film Slide and Negative Scanner – 10 Mega Pixel Film to Digital Image Converter – with 2.4-Inch LCD and TV-Out

Here is what it looks like:

IMG_9216

It’s a USB Connection to my PC. It will also handle a SD Card. Very compact, nice tilting viewing screen. Without a card, this will hold about 10 scans. I want to rename the “generic” filenames to the filenames listed above. It also helps break up the task at hand. So, I’ll transfer the scans to my PC and rename them right there.

Using the sorting and filtering features of my spreadsheet program, I know what slides have been scanned. I can then use my photo editing program to do what I want to, but at a later time.

Here is an example of a photo that was taken in 1963. Looks pretty good for me.

013-02

One of the main reason for the above picture, is so that I can scan my pictures of one of my cousin’s who passed away due to cancer. Actually these are my cousins, 2 have passed away, a couple of brothers, a brother and sister are also seen. I posted this one on Facebook, and while I was posting it, and replying to a comment, one of these cousin’s “liked” the picture.

Not bad, huh? The real slide isn’t too much better. Printing also looks pretty good.

7 Responses to Slide Scanning Project

  1. John Finkey says:

    Russ, I may have to get one of these. I know that I have wheels of slides at home that I’m assuming my Dad took! Thanks for posting this! I was looking at them in the window light and found some very special ones!

  2. Lauri says:

    I did all my slides and my dad’s slides a few years ago. I used a lightbox and my camera. Quality isn’t as good, but it went fast and the 4×6 prints are fine. Might need to invest in something better for the few slides that are worth saving in higher quality.

    • Russ Worthington says:

      Lauri,

      Thank you for your comments. Have tried that, but this device really works for me.

      I use Flip-Pal for my prints. I think I have blogged about Flip-Pal a couple of times. Also, very handy item in my Genealogy Tool Box.

      Russ

  3. […] Slide Scanning Project, A Worthington Weblog […]

Leave a comment