Finally figured “it” out

The “it” is, where did I get the “passion” to do Family Research.

Here is an Example:

IMG_20190713_110804

It’s the inside of a medal “banker’s box”. I have a couple of them. Was looking for a couple of things that I am looking for, so I looked into this one. Haven’t looked inside this one for years, if at all. It was one of those things that I took when my parents house was downsized and my mother had put it aside for me. (yes, I had already started my research, and maybe I know why my mother helped correct data that I had).

What a treasure trove of “stuff”. The “Rae Strode” was my grandmother, Rachel Johnston, and that is a lock of her hair, with that pin. Now the pin is interesting, in and of itself (but not for this story).

You will see another box, and Bible, an envelop (yet another story), and “address book”, and a pair of old glasses.

BUT, to the right of the bible, under the box, is some paper. That paper described what was in the box.

IMG_20190713_110959

This 2nd picture is that documentation of the contents of the box. And at the top were her initials.

No wonder the 150 Photo Albums have most of the photo’s very nicely marked.

My mother was Citing her Sources.

Oh, and I have submitted some photographs of the Jet Plane Crash to a Historical Society for a future publication they are working on. One of the Photographs had the date and time of the crash, marked on the back, which confirmed when that crash occurred. Of course, I sent them Both Sides, and Transcribed in the Filename, what was written on the back. (even the blank back side, which were few).

Guess I caught this from Louise Strode (1916 – 2010). Thank Mom.

2 Responses to Finally figured “it” out

  1. bobj2361 says:

    Loved this story.

    On Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 10:32 AM A Worthington Weblog wrote:

    > Russ Worthington posted: “The “it” is, where did I get the “passion” to do > Family Research.Here is an Example:It’s the inside of a medal “banker’s > box”. I have a couple of them. Was looking for a couple of things that I am > looking for, so I looked into this one. Haven’t looked ins” >

Leave a comment