Watch what you Wish For

Today we celebrated Christmas with my daughter, her husband, and three of the cutest “grandpups” “this side of the Mississippi”. OK, this side of the Delaware.

Some time ago, and I don’t even remember doing this, I put a book on one of those “Wish List” websites. I can’t tell you when I last visited it, but I did. Anyway, I got two books, one of which was on my wish list.
“Doctors In Blue”. The subtitle was ‘The Medical History of the Union Army in the Civil War”.

Why on earth a “medical book”? Oh yeah, Civil War. If you have been following that blog, you might note that I now have some interest in the Civil War. Medical? Don’t think so.

Oh, but what about the Sanitarium I had been looking for, where my Grandfather worked. Maybe that’s it.

I my have had question marks on my forehead or something, because Carrie said “you had it on your wish list”.

But her next question got my attention. “Are we related to the Author”? WHO? was my answer. George WORTHINGTON Adams. My next answer “no clue”.

As I have gotten into the habit of carrying my iPad2, I fired it up with the Ancestry AP and brought up my tree. Nope, not here.

But her question took me to Google search, and entered his name. Found what I was looking for. Who he was and what he did. A couple of hits down the list what what looked to be the beginning of a Family Tree. Hmmmm… Do YOU have your Tree Online? was the first thing that came to mine. Sure enough, I figured he would have been, probably one generation before I found the Worthington surname, which I did. Follow that back to Charles Worthington b: 1701.

THAT’s OUR Charles Worthington, was my reply.

Carrie and Patrick were on their way to see Patrick’s Uncle Ralph. Now Uncle Ralph and I have some things in common. One of which is that we were both in Vietnam about the same time, have been known to visit cemeteries. He captures some great stuff with pencil and paper, I try with a camera (with or with out film).

One of his Christmas presents was the same book that I got, and another Worthington (related) book that I had probably given to Carrie, but it was also about the Civil War.

As Carrie has also done some family history research, she asked my “and how are WE related” to “them”. The Them was the author of the TWO books.

Carrie had joined us in the opening of the Worthington Trail, at the Monocacy Battlefield, just south of Frederick, Maryland. One of the farms, where this battle took place, was a Worthington Farm. I have posted about there here before. One of the people that lived in that house, as the time of the Civil War Battle wrote a book about his experience. Fighting for Time; The Battle that Saved Washington, by Judge Glenn Howard Worthington.

Having my genealogy online I gave here our ancestry back to the common ancestor for Judge Worthington.

Capt. John Worthington (1650-1701)
John Worthington 1689-1763
John Worthington 1728-1790
James Worthington1772-1854
John H Worthington 1793-1858
John Thomas Worthington 1826-1905
(Judge) Glenn Howard Worthington 1858-1934
(author Fighting for Time)

That’s one book.

The Doctors in Blue looks like this.

Capt. John Worthington (1650-1701)
Charles Worthington 1701-1774
Samuel Worthington 1746-1821
James Worthington 1779-1813
Thomas Worthington 1801-1888
George Balford Worthington 1846-1895
Minna Worthington 1870-1949
George Worthington Adams 1905-1981
(author Doctors in Blue)

John and Charles were brothers. John the oldest, Charles the youngest.

But, where are WE?

Capt. John Worthington (1650-1701)
Charles Worthington 1701-1774

John Worthington 1733 -1803
Samuel Worthington 1785-1853
Henry Wilson Worthington 1815-1866
Samuel Worthington 1843-1897
Henry Russell Worthington 1887 – 1953
Henry Russell Worthington Jr 1916-2006

We also are descendants of Charles Worthington (1701-1774)

Uncle Ralph will be impressed??? (don’t think so) But wait, Carrie, Patrick and Uncle Ralph are going to the town where another of my ancestors lived, the Whitall House.

One more genealogy report.

Samuel Worthington (1843-1897) was married to:

Sarah Catherine Reeve 1849-1894
Job Whitall Reeve 1800-1861
Hannah Whitall 1775-1832
Job Whitall 1743-1798
James Whitall 1717-1808 Ann Cooper 1716-1797
(Owners of Whitall house during revolutionary war)

Uncle Ralph’s wife keeps reminding me that my ancestors are everywhere. Yup, even in her own neighborhood.

Guess I better be more careful for what I wish for. Another branch to research. That makes three. Two going back to the Civil War. That’s two in two weeks. Guess I know what I will be doing in 2012.

Uncle Ralph, Enjoy your new books.

2 Responses to Watch what you Wish For

  1. Excellent, Russ! Ralph does not do the computer, but I will make sure he stands next to me and reads this. Very Cool! Sorry we missed you on Christmas Eve. Merry Christmas to you and Patti!

Leave a comment