A Find-A-Grave Experience

I am not sure how I feel about this:

On Thursday, I am going to Arlington National Cemetery for the burial of my uncle, Americus Lamberti (1917 – 2012). We knew he was going to be buried there, just not when. We have been in contact with Arlington and the funeral home. On Saturday, we received a call from the funeral home and checked the Arlington National Cemetery website to get the information that we knew would be posted there.

I decided to go to my uncles file in my genealogy database program and there was a shaky leaf. Now I know I haven’t followed all of them, and hadn’t looked at Uncle Max’s profile for a while. The first HINT, from Ancestry, was to their index to Find-A-Grave.

It looks like the funeral home created the memorial in Find-A-Grave 2 days after my uncle died.

Find-A-Grave Memorial #10230107

Since I have been to the twin’s plot, took pictures, I checked to see if I have posted the pictures on Find-A-Grave. I had not. Took care of one of the twins and I realized that the second twin was not listed. Took care of that, with a picture. Will post a picture of Uncle Max after the service on Thursday.

I have seen conversations, in blogs and online, about how quickly information is posted on Find-A-Grave. I now “get it” and what that means. His obituary was online, on Find-A-Grave 2 days after he died, a memorial was created on Find-A-Grave, but he won’t be buried for 4 more days. Also, it was picked up by Ancestry.com and I had a shaky leaf.

Now if some of our other ancestors would show up that fast.

DC_Arlington-Lamberti_DwightStrode

6 Responses to A Find-A-Grave Experience

  1. Dame Gussie says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you for your trip on Thursday. When my son went over seas to a hot zone the first time, he was asked if he wanted to be buried at Arlington if he died in action while there. Nothing like bringing the thought to your demise to mind before being shipped. He is like his mother, taking it in stride as a practical step in the event of the unexpected happening. It is better to be prepared. He decided that he would be buried locally at the Veteran’s cemetery in New Hampshire. My husband and I also have been approved to be buried there. So that one question to my active duty son prepared all of us for our end of life journey when the time comes.

    • Dame Gussie,

      Thank you for your comments.

      It’s interesting how things have changed. When I went to Vietnam, that question wasn’t even asked.

      I do appreciate your sharing of your story.

      Russ

  2. ginisology says:

    I will be with you on Thursday as well dear cuz. I am very sorry for your loss. He will be buried in such a beautiful cemetery . . . may he rest in peace.

  3. Jana Last says:

    Russ,

    I’m sorry for your loss.

    I want to let you know that your blog post is listed in my Fab Finds post this week at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2013/06/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-june-28-2013.html

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment