So, who said Social Media doesn’t work ??

I am friends, on Facebook with a couple of “kids” who were childhood friends of my daughters. Seven Hours ago, I see this post:

My genetic test results are in (although not quite conclusive) and it looks like my theory about the origins of my adopted grandfather still has legs. I am 10% Asian! Mom is going to have to give up some spit to really test the hypothesis though. Even if it isn’t true, at least I know that I’m practically immune to leprosy and I am a super taster! So cool!

Hummmm … 23andme ??? I know that name. So, a quick message back trying to give me something to look for. I was given where he lived in 1930 and 1940, got his name and date of birth. Oh, did I mention that this was in New York City ??? Oh, no.

Having learned about what Ancestry.com has done for the  1940 Census, I went there. It took a while for me to learn that the “Bronx” is not in Kings County, where Google Search put it, I went to Bronx county, then New York. What do I know ….

I got down to 6 Enumeration Districts. The key to the success here, was the ability to just look at the Left Column, where the Street Name is usually, BUT with the ability to rotate that image to the Right.

1940_NY_Bronx_3-936-40of60-Viewer

5 ED later, each ED showing Gleason Avenue, if found what I was looking for. Rotating the Image back to normal, I found her Grandfather in the 3-935 Enumeration District at 1996 Gleason. Looks like an apartment building, based on this page was marked with the address.

1940_NY_Bronx_3-936-40of60-ToP

If Google Maps, street view is correct, here it is

1940_NY_Bronx_3-936-StreetView

Oh, you want the Census Record ….

1940_NY_Bronx_3-936-40of60

What this tells me, is that the Head of Household, her Grandfather and his wife, were in the same place in 1935 (Same House). Elenore was not yet born in 1935. This record shows that she was 3 at the time. Joseph was a Finisher at a furniture factory.

See what one comment on Facebook, about DNA might lead you?

1940 U.S. census, Bronx, New York, New York, population schedule, enumeration district (ED) 3-396, page 20B, family 436, line 31-33, Bracco, Joseph; digital image, Ancestry.om (http://ancestry.com: accessed 04/07/2012); citing NARA microfilm publication T627.

 

2 Responses to So, who said Social Media doesn’t work ??

  1. Wow!! Do you feel like Sherlock Holmes?? 😀
    Carrie @ Not Your Mother’s Genealogy
    a.k.a “DearMYRTLE’s daughter

Leave a comment