All caught up with this part of the We’re Related APP

On 16 Nov 2016, DearMYRTLE actually stayed home to host Wacky Wednesday about the APP. It was a great discussion. Please watch and join in the conversation in the Unified Chat if you have questions or comments. All you need to do is “register” and you will be taken to the recording, but the comments are there for you.

DearMYRTLE’s Wacky Wednesday – 16 Nov 2016

Just as a review, I have made a number of blog posts on this subject already:

25 Oct 2016 — The Ancestry We’re Related APP

08 Nov 2016 — The Ancestry “We’re Related” APP–Update

08 Nov 2016 — The Ancestry “We’re Related” APP–Update

12 Nov 2016 — We-re Related APP–Update

14 Nov 2016 — We’re Related APP–Update

I continue to be very encouraged with the results of the We’re Related APP. I have 39 Cousins in the APP, all but 10 of my initial list have been returned. All of the information from the Spreadsheet / Google Sheets are now in my genealogy database, starting to work for me.

The work involves bringing Ancestry.com HINTS to me. My task now is to use those hints to Prove or Disprove that data that has been provided by the APP. Of the 711 people in my database 329 of them have at last one hint. Looking at the linked Online Tree, there are 1,745 Record Hints, 537 Photo Hints, and 51 Story Hints to those 711 people.

I am beginning to work up my lines back to the 39 Common Ancestors finding those records to prove or disprove the information. 20 of the 39 We’re Related Cousins, I was within 1 generation of that common ancestor. The good news, I have hints to confirm that last generation which will be incorporated into my master database.

I haven’t seen any glaring problems so far. I have a couple of questionable lines, from the common ancestor to the new cousin, but I’ll deal with that as I go.

Two observations: 1) My name was changed from my Facebook Name to my Ancestry Member Tree Name, 2) The last entry in the APP screen for the new cousin, has some key information in it. For example: one of my “cousins” is not my cousin, but the Spouse is. Looking at the information on the screen clarified that the previous entry was the Mother, where the cousin’s name was female, and the relationship said Son. So, watch the details.

What is clear to me, so far, is that for a number of generations back, the APP is matching Ancestry Member Trees. Those trees can be Private or Public. What will be interesting to see, is where is the data coming from to make that last generations appear in my “line”.

I have been able to point out to one of my cousin’s that they may have a data entry that they might want so look at, and with that same cousin, who has NOT appeared in my list yet, who else they might be related to, based on my database. We know that we are related, and most likely in several ways, so it will be interesting to see which relationship shows up.

I have also had the APP CONFIRM and DNA Match, and I just found, from the APP, why the Ancestry.Com was giving me a DNA Circle. I didn’t know the surname for the Circle, but I do now. The 2nd DNA Circle that I have may also be connected with data from this APP.

I have been fine tuning the Ancestry Member Tree a little, to provide enough information that a new cousin could help complete their piece of the tree. Also, if a We’re Related APP Cousin is interested, I’ll be happy to Invite them as a Guest to the Tree, and if they want to collaborate in documenting the data from the APP, I’d be happy to have them join in the fun.

Here is my current summary of data:

Were_Related-66

Thee are only my observation, so far, on this APP. I am encouraged enough to continue to see how good the data is that we are provided with from the APP.

8 Responses to All caught up with this part of the We’re Related APP

  1. DAVID LEIGH ROOT says:

    GREAT WORK. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING DIRECT ANSESTERS OF MINE HAVE BEEN FOUND:
    DR. THOMAS C. WORTHINGTON 2/27/1819 – 9/171899
    AMOS DORSEY WORTHINGTON 2/1/1821 – 3/16/1890
    HALL WORTHINGTON 1861 – 1933

    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR PROJECT & THANK YOU

    • Russ Worthington says:

      David,

      Descendants of Capt John Worthington

      Russ

      • DAVID LEIGH ROOT says:

        I BELIEVE MY TREE IS AS FOLLOWS:
        CAPT. JOHN WORTHINGTON JAN. 1650 – 4/9/1701
        THOMAS HOWARD WORTHINGTON 1/8/1691 – 3/12/1753
        COL. NICHOLAS GREENBERRY WORTHINGTON 3/29/1734 – 11/1/1793
        CAPT. THOMAS CHARLES WORTHINGTON 6/7/1754 – 3/18/1823
        DR. CHARLES GRIFFITH WORTHINGTOMN 5/16/1786 – 10/25/1840
        AMOS DORSEY WORTHINGTON 1/29/1827 – 3/16/1896
        HALL WORTHINGTON 1/1/1860 – 1933
        CLARA EUDORA WORTHINGTON 2/22/1897 – 9/30/1981

        THIS FAMIY INCLUDED BY MARRIAGE THE FOLLOWING
        FAMILIES: BROWNE, DORSEY, HOWARD, RIDGELY, GREENBERRY, HALL, STAMP, TIPPETT, & BRICE

        THE COUNTIES IN MARYLAND WHERE THEY WERE BORN
        LIVED AND DIED ARE AS FOLLOWS: ANN ARUNDEL, BALTIMORE & HOWARD

        CEMETERIES: ST. ANNE’S CHURCH, ANNAPOLIS, MD WORTHINGTON GRAVEYARD, CLARKSVILLE, MD
        WORTHINGTON GRAVEYARD, CROWNSVILLE, MD
        LOUDON PARK, BALTIMORE, MD

  2. Russ,

    I want to let you know that your wonderful blog post is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2016/11/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-november-18_18.html

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Lark Robart says:

    Russ,

    Thanks for your ideas regarding the We’re Related app, which have inspired me to do my own spreadsheet and analyses. I’ve written about it in my blog at http://www.eightroadstomontana.com/uncategorized/were-related-ancestrys-new-app/

    Next step: my own WE’RE RELATED tree. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

