A Question for Evidentia (part 4) – List of Subjects

To recap where I am on this series

Now on to Evidentia.

There is a feature in Evidentia that I haven’t used before, under the List Manager, where it has the List of Subjects. This is where you will see who all has been had claim in the data entry part of the program. For this problem solving exercise I thought I would enter the Names of the persons from my genealogy database program up front. I hadn’t used it this way before but thought that going forward I would be able to compare my database against Evidentia easier.

Evidentia-1_Subject_List

But, I only had 3 names in the project so far and the list has 5 names.

In the EXCEL file I had a column called “Record For”. I didn’t expand that column in the previous blog post, but the first record that I will deal with is a Census Record. When I handle this type of record, I do it from the Head of Household, especially for relationships.

Since that first record is a Census Record, the Head of Household’s name and his wife’s name was added to the Subject List. Hopefully, the Census Record will help establish the relationship between the Head of Household, and the daughter Lucy H.

Any claims from the sources will be associated with the Names in my database. Also note, that the second entry does not have a birth surname, so my usual 5 underscores are present.

I would not normally do this, but allow the Subject List be generated by Evidentia as I enter the data.

What I will probably do differently, for this project, is not record all of the names that might be on a Census Record. I am trying to keep the focus on the problem that I am trying to resolve. That may change as I proceed with this project.

One Response to A Question for Evidentia (part 4) – List of Subjects

  1. […] A Question for Evidentia (part 4) – List of Subjects […]

Leave a Reply

