A Question for Evidentia (part 3) – EXCEL

This is part 3 of a series on my use of the Evidentia Software Program. To see more about this program, click on the link in the Right Menu panel.

To start this project, I wanted to take inventory of where I am and how I got here. Two things became very clear, right up front.

  • The use of a Research Log
  • The “accessed date” in the Citation

Here is an example of a 1910 US Federal Census Record:

1910 U.S. census, population schedule, New Jersey, Morris County, Washington Township, Supervisor’s District No. 5, Enumeration District No. 47, Sheet No. 9A, lines 49 – 50, Sheet No. 9B, line 1, Mud Street Road, Visited No. 203, Family Number 206, P. K. Rinehart household; FHL microfilm: 1374916; NARA microfilm publication T624, roll 903; digital image, Ancestry.com (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 10 Jul 2016).

My research log would only say 07/10/2016 – 1910 Census, but it’s easy to see which entry has that citation linked to it, in my genealogy database.

In EXCEL, I entered the Research Logs (one sheet) and related Citations. I am doing this for Sorting Purposes. I must look at the Records themselves to enter the information into Evidentia, so I want to remove my data entry from my genealogy program.

This is the first view sorted by Person, and their research log.

P4_EXCEL-1

The Person number another way to help be really look at the Source document, that Evidentia wants us to do, and just Enter the Claims from the document. The order from the research log, later, may give me a hint as to where I might have gone wrong. In other words, if I had looked at the records in a different order, I might have had a different outcome.

As mentioned in Part 2, I wanted to make sure that I knew what I was looking at, to remind me of the difference between a Find A Grave source and the Find A Grave Index.

The next column is only a reminder, for me, as to who the record was for, when I entered the fact or event into my program. For example, the first entry on the sheet was for a person NOT one of my three people, but someone else, William in this case.

The last column is the Reference Note (Citation) for that record. That will help when entering the data into Evidentia.

Another reason for entering this into EXCEL is for Sorting. I wanted to Sort by Date of reviewing the Document, not Sorted by Person.

P4_EXCEL-2

Now, its off to review and enter 25 documents into Evidentia. I will probably do a couple of examples of the data entry into Evidentia as I go.

2 Responses to A Question for Evidentia (part 3) – EXCEL

  1. […] A Question for Evidentia (part 3) – EXCEL […]

Leave a Reply

