There’s an APP for that / Find A Grave

I have been a contributor for the Find A Grave website for a long time. Posted Memorials, taken photographs, and used it as a research tool. I have used the Find A Grave APP since it first came out (in Beta) years ago. Always on my smart phone.

But, last fall I purchased a “Blue Tooth” enabled vehicle.

I am currently working on a research project that I have talked about here of late. Needless to say, this local family is in many local cemeteries. I know where most of them are already but I was challenged with a cemetery that I hadn’t visited before. The Find A Grave website did not have an address, only a town and county name. Not helpful.

I had visited two cemeteries and really wanted to visit this third one. As is my custom, I get as much information as possible before I ‘hit the road’, and this was no exception. I thought I knew about where the cemetery was, knew were several others are in the area, but I just couldn’t find this one.

I stopped driving about about an hour earlier than I would have in the past and thought, why not use the Find A Grave APP, on my Blue Tooth enabled radio. Pulled up the Find A Grave App, went to the Map, which showed the Cemeteries “in the area” and there was the listing I had seen on the website.

I noticed that I could get directions from the APP. It uses Google Maps and started to talk to my mode of transportation. I followed the voice’s instructions, right up to the front gate of the Cemetery (without any signs with the Cemetery Name). No wonder I didn’t know where it was. It wasn’t marked.

EOS_0841

As the saying goes “There’s an App for that”.

4 Responses to There’s an APP for that / Find A Grave

  1. Denise Olson says:

    Awesome! Yet another reason why I love FindAGrave. Thanks for passing on this tip. I’ll put it to good use.

  2. Michael Dyer says:

    Technology and genealogy go together so nicely!

Leave a Reply

