The 27th Regiment, New Jersey Infantry

A couple of days ago, I posted Soon to be Expert ( ??? ) on a project I was starting on. Being the 4th of July, I was drawn to take a look at the Civil War record of William H Ort, the Great Great grandfather of my daughter’s boss.

The Soldier and Sailors website has information on the Regiments in the Civil War so I wanted to look a little more into this regiment to see if there were any battles what other Civil War units that I have looked at before.

So, why am I posting this today. Well, I missed an anniversary, by two days. On 02 July 1863, the 27th Regiment was mustered out back in New Jersey. Guess I spent too my time in Cemeteries over the past couple of days.

Here is a quick map that I created to show the 27th Regiment during the Civil War (03 September 1862 – 02 July 1863)

Ort_William_H-27th_Regiment

A Timeline Report is here if you care to look at it.

NJ-Morris-Pleasant-Grove-Ort_William_H-1

NJ-Morris-Pleasant-Grove-Ort_William_H-2

NJ-Morris-Pleasant-Grove-Ort_William_H-Military

Russ Worthington photograph; privately held by Russ Worthington, Hackettstown, New Jersey 07840, 2016.  Headstone Photograph for William H Ort in the Pleasant Grove Presbyterian Churchyard, Pleasant Grove, Morris County, New Jersey.

Leave a Reply

