From an Index to an Image

One of the things that I have been doing, is to capture a Family History Library Film Number, on the FamilySearch.org website, and add that film number to my ToDo list.

I was working on a young lad, had a Shaky Leaf hint and it was for one of these records. I wanted to test out my theory that adding the FHL Number to my ToDo list was worth the time and energy.

Bottom Line: It works.

Here is my Reference Note for the Index Entry

“Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Death Certificates Index, 1803-1915”, database, Ancestry.com Operations, Inc, Ancestry.com (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 09 Mar 2016), entry for Henry Wilson Worthington III, death date 22 July 1875.

My ToDo list entry was:  FHL Film Number: 2026849

I went to Family Search, searched for the Film Number ONLY, and the result indicated that there WAS an image, so I entered the name, as provided in the Index, and there is was.

2016-03-09_120250

“Pennsylvania, Philadelphia City Death Certificates, 1803-1915,” database with images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.3.1/TH-266-11769-96749-42?cc=1320976 : accessed 9 March 2016), 004010252 > image 147 of 1214; Philadelphia City Archives and Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

BOTH the Index entry and the Family Search entries are in my database. The Reference Note in my program is

City of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania, Death Certificates for Henry Wilson Worthington III, date of death 22 Jul 1845,  FHL Film Number: 2026849; digital images, Family Search, FamilySearch.org (http://familysearch.org : accessed 09 Mar 2016).

Now, the citation just under the image, is in my Citation Text, so I don’t loose that, but when put into the program, provides a good, for me, Reference Note.

One Response to From an Index to an Image

  1. […] The fun is the stories that are starting to develop. For example, my Great Grandfather and Great Grandmother had 10 Children. At no time was there a census record that found the entire family at the same place at the same time. However, one census record did have a child who only lived a couple of months. Another of the children who died early had a Shaky Leaf Hint that was an Index hint, that actually let to the record that the hint was base on. I had blogged about that From an Index to an Image. […]

Leave a Reply

