TechTuesday – Ancestry Photo Hints

Not too long ago, I made this blog post, on my Family Tree Maker blogs:
An Observation in Ancestry Member Trees (AMT)

I wanted to bring that conversation and experience over here, not the FTM2014 part but the AMT Photo conversation and how I am using those Photo Hints for my current project.

I just pulled my Hints from on Ancestry Member Tree:

2016-03-11_175540

There are 10 Photo Hints right now. I hadn’t paid too much attention to them, until I made the discovery in that other blog post.

I started to pay attention to those hints. The 10 that are there now, are mine from another Online Tree. I am going to leave there, because they are special and I want to handle them specifically.

A couple of days ago, some of my photos from that other AMT showed up. Hey wait a minute, I already have that picture in my other file, why not bring them into the file that I am working on. So I did. So what, my own photos from another tree. BUT ….

I had just added a few new people, folks that I haven’t research at all, new to me, but were family, not far off of the branch I was working on. Not following up, (YET) There were a number of Photo Hints, so I looked at them. They were “my people” but for that branch. I accepted them, not yet sure who I submitted them, BUT I am marking them as Private in my database so that they can’t be seen online.

Why, you ask? This Post Card.

Hylton_Kenneth_Hays-1937_Post_Card_to_Aletha_Carr

Russ Worthington Photographs from AMT, 08 March 2016; privately held by H R Worthington, Hackettstown, New Jersey, 2016.  Kenneth Hays Hylton 1937 Post Card to Alethia Carr.

Notice, it is cited, but I hide the names.  This is important in that the addressee (TO; ) had the young lady’s maiden name and where she lived at the time. All I knew, before this post card was her married name, from another photo what had been a Photo Hint.

“Hays: was single in the 1930 Census, I had him and in West Virginia. The photos were marked, from the description with that photo that came to me from the hint. Sorry the other side of the Post Card wasn’t included because I think it was from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

Three Photo Hints are helping me put the pieces together. Not now, but later.  Because of the relationship in my database that this post card helped my establish, I received about 5 more Hints to follow, when I am ready to research that twig.

Lesson Learned: Check out those Photo Hints.

Leave a Reply

