And my “Current Thinking Is …”

There were two very important things about this photo:

  • The Photo is in archival sheets
  • The Photo is documented

This may make no sense to you, but I have been working on a mystery. That is how did my Great Grandfather and Great Grandmother meet.

WFA-1127

I knew about the Cottonwood Friends Church and that my Great Grandparents were married there 27 Feb 1872. But, that note is the hint I was looking for.

Reeves & Garland families went to church here. Elizabeth W. Leeds met the Reeves & Garland families here. Samuel & Catharine Reeves Worthington were married here.

The Reeve and Garland families moved to Kansas, from Tennessee between 1859 and 1861. Why, is still up in the air. I hadn’t gotten far enough to realize that the Garlands were there as well.

Job Whitall Reeve and Hannah Lucinda Garland are my 2nd great grandparents. Their youngest child was born in 1859, and Job died in Kansas in 1861. That is how I know the time frame.

Elizabeth Willits Worthington Leeds was my Great Grandfather Samuel Worthington’s mother. Lots more about her, but that’s another story.

So, “my current thinking is” that my great grandparents met “at church”, or more appropriately “at meeting”.

2 Responses to And my “Current Thinking Is …”

  1. lhan5101o says:

    Russ,
    When I saw this picture and read the caption, my old heart skipped a beat. Our oldest son, Martin, married his wife, Stephanie Mendel, in this same church on August 30, 1997. What a small world. If you would like some pictures of the church on that date, email me at lhan5101o@charter.net and I would be happy to send some. There are even some inside pictures.
    Louise

    • Russ Worthington says:

      Louise,

      That is so awesome. I will drop you a note. Would love to see another picture of this church. I am hoping to get a chance to visit the area in the very near future.

      Thank you,

      Russ

Leave a Reply

