What’s Your Ancestral Name Number ?

Back in 2012, a number of Genea-Bloggers did a Saturday Night Genealogy Fun series. It was generated by a weekly challenge by Randy Seaver, on his Genea-Musings Blog.

I was up for the challenge.

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – What’s Your Ancestral Name Number?

Here is the chart from 2012.

Generation

Number

Found

Percentage

1

1

1

100%

2

2

2

100%

3

4

4

100%

4

8

8

100%

5

16

16

100%

6

32

26

81%

7

64

39

61%

8

128

51

40%

9

256

60

23%

10

1023

264

26%

Total

1,023

264

25%

That wasn’t too bad, but like “they” say, but what have I don’t recently. So, with a challenge by another Genea-Blogger Shannon Thomas. I thought I would “run the numbers” again.

Please visit Shannon’s blog post

2015 Legacy Stats

Here are my 2015 numbers, as I haven’t been able to do research for those missing gaps in 2016, yet.

Generation Number Found Percentage
1 1 1 100%
2 2 2 100%
3 4 4 100%
4 8 8 100%
5 16 16 100%
6 32 28 88%
7 64 39 61%
8 128 58 45%
9 256 62 24%
10 512 72 14%
Total 1,023 290 28%

I’ll take a 2% increase. Haven’t really been doing research for new people, but have spent more time looking for stories and verifying the data I already have. But I have blogged about some of that.

So, What is YOUR Ancestral Name Number ?

5 Responses to What’s Your Ancestral Name Number ?

  1. Dave Robison says:

    OK Russ…I did a little better than I thought with 312 or 31%. I didn’t include anyone for whom I had no name such as a husband whose wife is so far unknown and vice versa.

    • Russ Worthington says:

      Dave,

      Congratulations. I had forgotten a couple of cousin’s that married. So, we are pretty close.

      Thanks for playing.

      Russ

      • Dave Robison says:

        Russ, Just for future reference, I used the Ahnentafel report in FTM. Could I have used an easier FTM report?

        • Russ Worthington says:

          Dave,

          I have used the Reference Number feature. I have it set for Automatic with a Prefix. I then Overwrite that with a manual entry. I am number one (1), but Dad is double my number, my mother is my Dads number plus 1. Father is double the child, Mother is Father plus 1. Have done that for years.

          Now, I then go to the Publish Workspace, Person Collection, Custom Report. Selected individuals starting with myself and my Ancestors.

          In the Items to Include, Name and Person ID. Do a Share, Save as .CSV and open the CSV in a spreadsheet. i add a Column and add the Generation Number in this new column.

          Generation 1 = 1
          Generation 2 = 2 and 3
          Generation 3 – 4 through 7
          Generation 4 = 8 through 15

          etc

          I’ll have to do a blog post on this.

          Does that help?

          Russ

  2. Russ Worthington says:

    Here’s an update. I forgot about a couple of multiple relationships, based on cousins that married. I am up to 297 people and 29%. Looking at my data a little deeper, just to see how many generations of do go back 15 generations with one line back 18. My trust of my own data falls off at 9 generations.

Leave a Reply

