Making a connection, using the Find-A-Grave website

As I posted earlier in the week, I mentioned going to Monocacy and the Worthington House there. I met several “cousins” there as we were able to tour the building.

EOS_0481

What we didn’t know for sure, is HOW WE are related. I knew how I was related to the owners of the house, be not sure how they were related.

I had taken a book with me, that I created in 1999,  for the opening of a Walking Trail at the Worthington House. During lunch, I shared that book with the cousins, Joe Worthington and his two daughters.

Joe found his ancestor in my book, very good news, but I had not searched down further on that line, because I was focusing at the time to Judge Glenn Howard Worthington.

He mentioned Lavinia a number of times and there was a cousin connection to the owners of the Worthington House. Hmmm.

My approach, in this case, is to try to prove him, Joe, wrong. So, I took what I had and did some research to do just that. As it happens most of the time, I am able to prove him correct, but I have information to start looking for the documentation to prove him right.“A Cousin”, “Lavinia”, “Dr Charles Nicholas Worthington”, and the owners of the Worthington House at the time of the Civil War.

In my database, I had a shaky leaf hint for John Thomas Worthington, the owner to the 1900 Federal Census. Right time, right place.

2015-12-31_194002

1900 U.S. census, population schedule, Maryland, Frederick County, Urbana; Supervisory District 4, Enumeration District 15;Sheet 12 B (penciled); dwelling 318, family number 30; line 79-82; Lavinia Worthington household; Roll: 622; Page: 12B;  FHL microfilm: 1240622; NARA microfilm publication T623, roll 622; digital image, Ancestry.com (www.ancestry.com : accessed 30 December 2015).

There is the Lavinia and cousin John T Worthington, and his wife Mary R. Worthington. There is the cousin connection between Lavinia and John, but WHO is Lavinia.

I entered Lavinia into my database, as I normally would, with an unknown birth surname, as the census stated that she was a widow, and other information from the census record and a shaky leaf hint showed up for her.

It was to a Find-A-Grave Memorial (#16417102), confirming where she was buried and that was in the same cemetery where Dr Charles Nicholas Worthington was buried. The inscription in the transcription from the stone, and it is readable, “wife of Dr. Charles N Worthington”. Not completely happy there, I went to HIS memorial (#16416989).

This memorial confirmed what I have in my database, as to his parents, and his first wife. So, I have the right person, and now his 2nd wife.

Not only did it confirm what I had, but also backed up why Lavinia was listed as a Widow, as Charles died in 1898. Joe, is a descendant of Charles’ first wife. I only had one of his children, but the Find-A-Grave memorial listed their 5 children, only one of which was a male. So, I am one generation closer to making the connection to Joe and his family.

2 Responses to Making a connection, using the Find-A-Grave website

  1. Reblogged this on familytreegirldotcom and commented:
    Great find and confirmation by Cousin Russ. Tune in to his blog and enjoy! Find a grave is an awesome place to check information. I located a gentleman on find a grave and saw a note posted at the bottom saying we miss you uncle Milton, RIP. I followed up with the name in the note and found out that her grandmother was my grandfather’s half sister! Yes use Find a grave!

    • Russ Worthington says:

      Thank you Shelley. This blog post will be in my updated Find-A-Grave presentation. Its great what you can find on that website. But, like many other websites, you need to see if you can find a couple more records to confirm what is there.

      And, follow up like you did. Congratulations on your find.

      Russ

Leave a Reply

