A Visit to Monocacy, Home of Judge Glenn Howard Worthington

A while ago, I made this blog post

Planned Weekend Trip – Day 1

I talked about Monocacy. Well, tomorrow, December 29, 2015, (weather pending) I will visit The Monocacy Battlefield with some “cousins” I have not met in person. We will be able to visit the inside of the Worthington House.

In 1999, I was also in the house, but that was before the National Park Service made a lot of progress on the restoration of the house. They were in the progress of making it stable for the restoration.

WorthingtonHouse-1999-01.jpg

I took this picture in 1999. A couple of years ago, I revisited it.

MVC-375S.jpg

Looking at my notes, 101 years ago, December 29, 1914, there was some tragic news that impacted Glenn Howard Worthington and his wife, Julia Alvey Worthington. A telegram was received by the Worthingtons letting them know that Mr and Mrs Harry C Alvey and their three children were burning “yesterday” about 4 o’clock in their house in Winter Haven, Florida. Mr Alvey was the brother of Julia Worthington.

Glenn Howard Worthington was my 5th Cousin, 2 times removed.

I am looking forward to another visit to this historic home and meeting some new cousins as we are able to see the progress on the inside of the house. But, will remember who lived in the home that we visit.

We are grateful to the National Park Service for the work that has been done to this historic home and for allowing us to visit.

 

Leave a Reply

