Hints to solve another Mystery

For years, I have seen references to Samuel Worthington, brother of Capt. John Worthington (1650-1701). But have always lost him in Somerset County, Maryland. Other Worthington researchers have not been able to find any descendants.

In the past couple of Blog posts, I have mentioned that I was looking in the State of Maryland Archives website. I think that I found out why.

WORTHINGTON, SAMUEL (?-1717). IMMI-
GRATED: by 1689, as a free adult.

RESIDED: in Somerset Parish, Somerset County.

FAMILY BACK-GROUND. Possibly related to John Worthington (1650-1701). MARRIED Alice (?-1739/40), daughter of Arnold Elzey, Gent., (?-1733), a justice
of Somerset County, 1693-1699, 1702-1709, and
wife Major Waller. Her brothers were John (1693-
?), who married Anne Catherwood; and Arnold
(1695-?). Her sisters were Sarah (1683-1753);
Elizabeth; Major (1685-?); and Anne (1686-?),
who married first, Robert Catherwood (?-1715),
and second, by 1718, William Stoughton (1692-
1759). Alice married second, Merrick Ellis (?-
1732) of Somerset County.

CHILDREN. Probably died without progeny.

A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature 1635-1789 by Edward C. Papenfuse, et. al. Volume 426, Page 915

pile of old bricks

I have some follow up to do on this, to see if I can verify what is in this article, so I have a few more bricks to move out of the way to make sure I haven’t miss anything coming forward in time.

Now, I have to go back to the other side of the pond to see if I can find John AND Samuel with their parents.

 

Image courtesy of GenealogyInTime Magazine http://www.genealogyintime.com – See more at: http://www.genealogyintime.com/GenealogyResources/Wallpaper/free-images.html#sthash.Oke9zsXD.dpuf

2 Responses to Hints to solve another Mystery

  1. Nancy Frost says:

    I can help you with Samuel Worthington and Alice Elzey. I have the Waller family traced back to 1040 in England. You are having problems because you are using the wrong dates The info is very lengthy you could send me an email.

    • Russ Worthington says:

      Nancy,

      Don’t know your Waller family.

      Please enlighten me, since I am so wrong on the Dates for Samuel. Oh and please provide me with the source of your information.

      Thank you,

      Russ

Leave a Reply

