Was he, or Was he NOT an Indentured Servant?

I hope that I have someone to take a look for Capt. John Worthington (1650-1701) in some records, at the Maryland Archives. The long told story is that he came from England in the mid to late 1600’s, probably around 1675. Further, the story was that he was an Indentured Servant of “Lord Baltimore”.

Over the past couple of days, I have been trying to understand WHICH Lord Baltimore, as there may be as many as 7, and when “he” would have crossed the pond, bringing the lad John Worthington.

That was one mistake. The mistake being that John Worthington was “on the boat” with ”Lord Baltimore”. The second mistake was what an Indentured Servant really was. Mistake number two. What I currently understand that term to mean is that someone PAID for the passage of “the indentured servant”.

When of realized those two mistakes, I think I have determined which “Lord Baltimore” paid for his passage. Charles Calvert, the 3rd Barron Baltimore was in Maryland, in 1675. Right “title”, time, and place. Now to find a record of that, and my research says there will be records.

As I have learned in the resent past, and currently teach, BEFORE you visit an Archive, see what that have Online. I did and the Maryland Archives have a number of volumes with Legislative Proceedings on this topic. Haven’t found what I was looking for yet, BUT, I did find this.

Worthington_John-Legislative_Profile

A Biographical Dictionary of the Maryland Legislature 1635-1789 by Edward C. Papenfuse, et. al. Volume 426, Page 913

A nice profile for Capt. John. My new conflicting information is high lighted. 1678 or 1679 as a FREE Adult.

The full article has too many “probably” statements, I get that, but there are even more questions that come up. His parents names are OK, but later on, there is mention of Samuel Worthington that is “possibly” related to John.

Samuel has a profile as well, but he disappears from records within a generations, I have known about Samuel before and have looked, and he disappears.

Not at all comfortable about this new information.

However, in the profile is mention of a Land Transaction in England 01 February 1676/77 which will be my next “Bright Shiny Object”.

Leave a Reply

