Letters in the Mail

What a day this has been.

While waiting for DearMYRTLE’s Genealogy Law Study Group Hangout On Air today, I went out to pick up the mail. In the mail was an unexpected envelope from one of my “Texas Cousins”. In reality, my Dad’s Texas Cousins. I had no idea what was in side, but it looked like it might have letters in it.

Jody, his siblings and I have shared our research over the years. They have shared far more than I, but share non-the-less.

I am glad I was sitting down to open the envelope. Right on top was a card addressed “Cousin Russ”. I will guess that Mary, Jody’s wife, did not know that is the name I am known as on Google+. That way of addressing the Pennsylvania and the Texas cousins was the way it has always been, or at least as long as I can remember.

Over time, I will probably share some detail of the content of the envelop. What I can say now, is the first two letters that I actually read.

The first letter was from my Aunt (95 years young) to Jody and Mary, dated 26 September, 1972. The second was from her Sister, Anna, also to Jody and Mary, dated 12 August 1970. The fact that they were presented to me in this order, has an interesting twist. The content of both, I will share very soon. Not quite ready to do that right now. But, I will. Now it is time to really try to preserve what I have and be in a position to share these letters with “the family” later on (but soon).

First thing, after I had to replace my All-In-One Printer, was to scan these two letters. Next step is to trans-scribe them using Genscriber. Haven’t used it for a while, but it make the whole process very easy. I have the Image that was scanned (JPG) in one window and a place to type in another window. I will re-scan to a TIFF file, and save the typed version to a Word Document. Genscriber creates an RTF file, which can be saved as a .DOC or .DOCX file.

My file naming practice is to file any document as Surname_GivenName_Middlename and a description. In this case, I will use YYYY_Month_Day followed by a dash and a number, depending on the number of pages and scans.

In my other Blog, I talked about How to put a Citation on an Image. Why not use that method, so I did. I put a image of the front and back of this first letter and on the edge I put my citation that is in my Family Tree Maker program for this letter. This page is not for reading, but to be facing front, in a notebook, with THE letter behind it, in an archival sleeve.

2015-03-14_012701

The 2nd sleeve, I put the transcription of the letter facing front, but on the back, I included the same text but added the Date and how I received this letter, and facts about the people named in the letter.

The next sleeve, which will be in a notebook, will be scanned images of the letter.

This is the process that I am going to use to preserve these letters. Once they are preserved, then they will be added to my genealogy database.

Can’t wait to get through these 20+ letters, mostly from my grandmother to these same Texas Cousin’s.

Stayed tuned.

2 Responses to Letters in the Mail

  1. Miss Donna says:

    Awesome! And it seems you have a good system in place.

    • Russ Worthington says:

      Thank you Miss Donna.

      It is working for me. Might tweak it as I go, but I like the first several letters that I have done.

      Russ

Leave a Reply

