Preparation for the Study of Mastering Genealogical Proof

I am getting ready for a study of a new book, Mastering Genealogical Proof. My plan is to use the book, to see if I can put a dent in a brick wall. Not that brick walls can be dented, but I won’t go so far to say that I’ll knock down that brick wall. I’ll provide details about this book in a moment.

From a previous study of a work by Dr. Thomas W Jones, author of Mastering Genealogical Proof, I am guessing that I will have to come up with a specific Question. I will use my genealogy database management program, Family Tree Maker 2012, but will use two additional programs. GenDetective, which I have blogged about, and Evidentia, which I have also blogged about.

For this blog post, I am going to use Evidentia to create a Source listing, for this book, as it will become helpful as we study this book.

Understanding that Evidentia was updated as a result of the study of this book, by the developer of this product, I want to verify that I had the correct version. I opened Evidentia, clicked on About Evidentia, which brought up this screen and clicked on Check Version


The result,


Good so far, now to begin entering this new project and database.

Since this is a new database and a New Source, I selected Document Source.


The Source Title is of my choosing and is not used in any reports. I want to have book sources listed together in later data entry or use. So, I entered Book – Mastering Genealogical Proof.

Since this is an Authored Work, in the pull down menu, that is what I selected.


I want to use the Evidence Explained! template, I selected the Template ICON on the right, which brought up a list of templates. I entered “b” so that I didn’t have to scroll down to the Book template and selected Book, Book format, (citing from title page)


I then click on Select, and the fields on the right indicate what data will appear in the Source information.


The next screen is “fill in the blanks”. Information is from the Title Page inside of the book. (that’s easy for me)


Below is the resulting Document a Source screen. The Description field, again is for User Notes. I am just reminding myself, that Dr. Jones also had a presentation on on Inferential Genealogy which I participated in a study on Second Life.


I changed screens to show the Citation so far. But future blog posts on this topic will be used to generate the Citations for this study.


The Source will look like this.

Thomas W. Jones, Mastering Genealogical Proof (Arlington, Virginia: National Genealogical Society, 2013)

For more details, Ed Thomson, developer for Evidentia, has a YouTube presentation on this task. Please visit his site.

Evidentia – Getting Started – Part 1 – YouTube

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,047 other followers

