Find your National Treasure in the Nation’s Capital – Day minus 1

This weekend I am attending the Fairfax Genealogical Society, Spring Conference, 2012. I had planned on attending, with my Cousin, Dear MYRTLE. As it turns out, she asked me to do a piece of one of her presentations. What an honor, but a bit scary. But I am looking forward to it. We are going to talk about Integrating your Genealogy Database with Online Discoveries. Actually, this is right up our alley, as that is how we discovered that we are cousins. Will probably talk about this later.

Backing up a day, the Fairfax Genealogical Society had a monthly meeting last night, the night before the conference. Now there is a concept, but it will be a long weekend for those “working” the conference.

Last night, there were over 100 people in attendance. Wow!!!! It was announced that there were 64 new members in this Society. Wow, again.

Beside a normal business meeting, Dear MYRTLE gave a short presentation about the 1940 Census and the Indexing Project.

Have YOU signed up?

I have, and I have done a couple of practice batches, to remind myself how it worked.

There were TWO (2) Featured Speakers at this meeting. The topic Capital Treasure: A Sampler of Gems in the DC Area Repositories. Pamela K. Sayre, CG, CGL, and Rick Sayre, CG were the presenters. They teased us, for the Conference, with four vignettes that demonstrated the various repositories and sources in the DC area.

I was reminded that I am only sorry that I hadn’t started with my research while I lived in the DC area. And the reminder that “Not Everything is Online“.

I am looking forward to two days of classes, hanging out with Myrt and Mr. Myrt, and with other genealogist.

Thank you Fairfax Genealogical Society.

2 Responses to Find your National Treasure in the Nation’s Capital – Day minus 1

  1. Russ,
    Thanks for mentioning the conference. We enjoyed having you. Our final count was about 300 paid attendees, 14 speakers and 27 vendors in attendance.
    Gordon Erickson
    Vendor Chair,
    Fairfax Genealogical Society

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,406 other followers

