My Heritage–Smart Matches

As you may know, I use this Blog for more of my research and not the use of the program that I use, Family Tree Maker.

I was re-introduced to My Heritage a couple of weeks ago and have started to “talk about it”. Here are two links to where I started:

FTM2014 – How to Export a GEDCOM file for My Heritage

FTM2014 – HOW TO: Import from My Heritage

First “confirmed” SmartMatch

My Heritage – another mess to clean up

So much for Family Tree Maker. Now I have a new problem. I had a tree on Geni.com when it first came out. Wanted to see how it worked and wanted those “cousin connections”. After looking a little deeper in what Geni.com was all about, I decided just to let that tree sit there. I get email messages, from time to time, about a birthday or an anniversary, so it’s not all bad.

Today I received this email, from Geni.com with One Match.

2014-05-11_120815

In the Geni.com tree, she is listed as my Mother-In-Law, which is true. But, who is this other tree.

Looking down the page I see:

2014-05-11_120844

More details in this “other” tree, so I wanted to View this Match.

2014-05-11_121000

It’s my other, or New Tree, that I created from FTM2014 as shown in the other blog posts. The additional information in the earlier image shows that I have done more research on Patti’s mother so all is good.

BUT

What to do next?

  • Confirm that match?
  • Delete the Geni.com Tree?
  • Merge the two trees?

Just in case you didn’t know, My Heritage now owns Geni.com.

Will have to look  into this further. I have other concerns which I will post / share here in the next couple of days.

Anyone else have any experience with Geni.com and My Heritage?

Thank you.

One Response to My Heritage–Smart Matches

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,449 other followers

