Entering first Source into Evidentia

This is the third post in a series on how I plan on using Evidentia in the study of a book. The first was:

Preparation for the Study of Mastering Genealogical Proof where I entered the book title into Evidentia

The instructions on how I did this, was after watching Evidentia – Getting Started – Part 1 – YouTube. Then I followed up with how I wanted to create this new database and save it to Dropbox.

Evidentia Filename and it’s location

Now it’s time to enter the first source. Again, the developers of Evidentia have another YouTube video:

Evidentia – Getting Started – Part 2

In my case, I will use a Pedigree Chart that I have received from the Worthington Family History Society. This chart is one in a series created for the Worthington 17th Century Project. The person of interest is John Worthington (in the red box)

Evdentia-B-01

What I know of this project, there are a team of individuals who have researched old English Records, and created these Pedigree Charts. At least one researcher created it, but usually there were two in the creation of these charts, then at least two other people who examined the chart and associated records, then Proved these charts. Its just that these charts do not have any source and citation information on the charts.

Since I have already found one of the original records, as I reported here:

Day One–Searching in Lancashire, England

I figured that I created this database in my genealogy program, I could find the documentation myself, online, while I wait for any additional information that I might receive from the project.

Since my goal is to Identify John Worthington’s Parents, I will use this chart to do so. It may not be clear on this chart, but his parents are listed as Francis Worthington and Sarah Byrom. I want to prove, or disprove that claim. What I will do, is to use this 2nd video, for my instructions, and use it to added the information in this blog post. For me, I need to do this one step at a time, while I learn to use Evidentia.

I created the Source, as I did in the earlier blog post on Mastering Genealogical Proof, and started a Citation on this Pedigree Chart. In the video, +Ed Thompson used a Google Book, and I will be using this Pedigree Chart, and a specific person.

Pedigree Chart MA – John Worthington (Art: M 5)

Evdentia-B-02

Each person of interested, in these charts have an “Art” or Article number. That helps keep track of all of the “John Worthington’s” in these charts. So, I now have the Source, I want to add the Claims that are presented in this Source.

In the video, Ed talked about an Always On Top screen that is very helpful when transcribing information from a source. I learned this trick, not a trick but a great feature, when I used Evidentia earlier. You get that screen with the 3rd ICON under Classification of the Claim. It looks like a pencil. Maybe hard to see on this screen, but very helpful.

Evdentia-B-03

So now, I will bring up that Pedigree Chart and transcribe what is on the Chart, into that Always On Top window, one Claim at a time.

I see that John Worthington resided in Anne Arundel County, Maryland. So, in the window I type “John Worthington resided in Anne Arundel County Maryland. That is a claim or assertion that is being made.

Evdentia-B-04

 

The Claim screen, we are to “Complete this sentence The source asserts that …”

Evdentia-B-05

That is what goes into that Always On Top window.

I continue to enter each claim that I can see on that Pedigree pertaining to John Worthington. Like his wife, Sarah Howard, some information about her, his children that are listed in the bottom line of the Pedigree Chart, and information about Francis Worthington, his father, and Sarah Byrom his mother. Its this last to items that I want to prove or disprove. I am NOT going to rely on this Chart to reach a conclusion that Francis and Sarah Worthington are John’s parents. But this is a good start.

.Evdentia-B-06

The center column about is to determine the Classification of the Source. I concluded that this source is Secondary, in that no one, creating, examining, or providing the Chart had direct knowledge of this event, but were looking at some sort of record about the event. Those are the records I want to find and see.

Evdentia-B-07

So, each Claim, I marked as Secondary.

One of the reports, that is available, is to show a list of all of the Claims from this Source that I entered with this citation.

Evdentia-B-08

At this point, the data entry, into Evidentia, is complete.

The real benefit for me, of Evidentia, is not the data entry, I can do that into my genealogy database, but the next step that Evidentia does is to force (used in a very positive way) me to EVALUATE each claim or assertion to help draw a conclusion.

More to follow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,451 other followers

