Result of the use of WikiTree to gather information

I did a series of blog posts on the use of WikiTree to gather information from the “facebook” generation.

http://worthy2be.wordpress.com/tag/wiki-tree/

My goal was to gather family information about some nieces and nephews that I had lost contact with, so that I could generate a book and/or chart for my Aunt, my Dads younger sister.

What I had noticed, is that these nieces and nephews and their children were “online” on Facebook. So, how to gather their information for me to add to my genealogy database. Online … hmmmm … Oh yeah, there is WikiTree. http://www.wikitree.com/

I provided instructions to the upper right of my blog, on how I wanted “them” to use WikiTree, because I want that tree to be completely private as I was gathering information on living people, including a couple of babies.

Well, it worked. I had great help from a couple of cousins to pull this together and hope that I can get a couple of other cousins to help me fill out their “lines”.

I sent my data along to Family Chartmasters and my friend “the Chart Chick” Janet Hovorka, and the Family Chartmasters generated a beautiful Descendant Chart that I gave to my aunt. Now, when her great-grandchildren come to visit her, they can see that chart, find their name then listen to my Aunt tell her stories. And she has a bunch of great stories.

Item for my ToDo list: Take my digital recorder with me the next time I go to visit.

Here is that chart:

IMG_8301

IMG_8302

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,405 other followers

