Who is Capt. John Worthington’s father?

OK, it’s time to get a discussion going on who are Captain John Worthington’s (1650-1701) parents.

This past week, I had a chance to spend some time in the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The trip to Salt Lake City was planned, but the visit to the FHL was not. Since “I was in the area” with 6,700 other family researchers, I thought I would see if I could find a passenger list or something to give me some more details on Capt. John.

I found it !!! Happy dancing going on in the 2nd basement.

Worthington, Capt. John (1650-1701: son of John, of Jesus Coll., Cambridge, Eng.): came to America with his brother, Samuel; was in Md., 1670; capt. Anne Arundel Co. militia; burgess; judge Provincial Ct.; mem. Quorum; m Sarah. dau of Matthew Howard1

Now, I have heard that this is an unreliable source, but I wanted to see if there were any hints here for other sources. I have, in my files, the “brother Samuel” but loose him in Somerset County, Maryland. But, what about this Jesus College. The problem here is that I have records that show that Frances Worthington as the father of Capt. John and he was from Manchester, Lancashire, England. This is showing John, of Cambridge.

I found a book on the History of Jesus College. Sure enough, there is a Mr. John Worthington, later listed as Dr. John Worthington about 1648, which looked promising. Since this book was about the history of the college I didn’t expect to find too much genealogical information there.

In that book, A History of Jesus College Cambridge, by Arthur Gray, M.A., Mast of the College 1912-1940; and Frederick Brittain, LITT.D. Fellow of the College; Heinemann, London Milborne Toronto, it associated a term, for John, as “a Fellow of Emmanuel”.

Back to search in the FHC Catalogue, I found another to John Worthington in Alumni Cantabrigienses. It was located  where the History of Jesus College was, so I picked it up. Sure enough there was John Worthington. Not one but 4 John Worthington’s. The first of the  John’s refers to “Fellow of Emmanuel, 1642”. Happy dance continues.

BUT, later in the paragraph it says “Brother of Samuel (1644) and father of John Worthington (1680-1).” Oops, the dates don’t work for me. It also says that John married Mary, dau. of Christopher Whichote, Oct. 13, 1657. The dates still don’t work for my Capt. John.

Going back though my file, I do see a reference to Christopher Whichote and Mary but not a good connection.  I went back to the History of Jesus College and there was mention on page 87, speaking of John, “His only son, John, was admitted a pensioner of the College in 1680.”

End of the Happy Dance.

So, I am back to Frances (1624-1668) and Sarah Byrom (1624-1664) married 1648 as Capt. John’s parents. So I am back to The Cathedral in Manchester, Lancashire, England. The couple of a Samuel, born about 1648 and John about 1650. But Samuel is listed as the 3rd child. So, the dates still don’t work for me.

I thought I had broken my “across the pond” problem, while I was in Salt Lake City, but after reviewing the data, I am back asking the question, Who are Captain John Worthington’s parents.

1Frederick Adams Virkus, Immigrant Ancestors:  A List of 2,500 Immigrants to America before 1750  (1942; Reprinted, Baltimore:  Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1976); Page 75; Worthington, Capt. John; Family History Library, 35 North West Temple Street
Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,448 other followers

