War of 1812 and Fold3.com Search Result

Last year, I posted this:

Initial Summary of David Ridgely Howard

and more recently

Another Link to the War of 1812

I was doing a little more research ON the War of 1812. For Military Records, my first stop is normally Fold3.com. What I found was link to War of 1812 Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.

What did that record have to do with me. There wasn’t too much of interest to me, BUT the name on the Letter Head.

DAR-Howard_JohnEdger-1

John Eager Howard Chapter. Chapter of What?

DAR-Howard_JohnEdger

the D.A.R., in Baltimore, Maryland. So, in searching the War of 1812, I found, or found again, an Ancestor, John Eager Howard, 3rd cousin, 6x removed. Why wouldn’t there be a DAR Chapter named after him. He did fight in the Revolutionary War. Must have been a real hero.

2 Responses to War of 1812 and Fold3.com Search Result

  1. Barb says:

    That’s a nice find Russ. However, not all chapters were named after war hero’s. I was a member of the Esther Stanley Chapter of New Britain, CT, and one of my ancestor’s has a chapter named after her,the Hannah Woodruff Chapter of Southington, CT.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,450 other followers

